LTAC reveals the names of finalists for the John Glassco Literary Translation Prize 2017

The Literary Translators’ Association of Canada (LTAC) is delighted to announce the names of finalists for the 33rd John Glassco Literary Translation Prize. Finalists were chosen from over twenty entries of first book-length translations published by a recognized publishing house between July 1, 2015, and June 30, 2017.

The four finalists, in alphabetical order, are as follows:
• Edmond-Louis Dussault for Confidences de Pariyem (Pasar Malam), translation of Linus Suryadi AG’s Indonesian poem Pengakuan Pariyem;
• Eva Lavergne for Agonie City (Prise de parole), translation of Matthew Heiti’s novel The City Still Breathing;
• Catherine Leroux for Corps conducteurs (Éditions Alto), translation of Sean Michaels’ novel Us Conductors;
• Ardeth Neale for Mary the Life Saver (BookLand Press), translation of Louis-Philippe Hébert’s collection of poetry Marie Réparatrice.

This year’s jury was comprised of Sonya Malaborza (Chair), Peter Feldstein, Nouha Homad and Marie-Claude Plourde, all experienced literary translators and full members of LTAC.
“The quantity and wide range of entries submitted for the John Glassco Literary Translation Prize show that a new generation of literary translators are making a name for themselves,” said Sonya Malaborza. “We received a large number of excellent translations which were a joy to read. We look forward to revealing the identity of the winning translator.”

Prize-giving and homage to John Glassco
The John Glassco Literary Translation Prize will be awarded at 7 PM on October 1, 2017, at the Maison des Jeunesses musicales du Canada (305 Mount-Royal Avenue East, Montreal), as part of the Festival international de la littérature (FIL). The winner will receive a cheque for $1,000 and one year LTAC membership. During the evening, LTAC members and attendees will also pay homage to John Glassco, the Canadian writer, poet and translator. Through excerpts of his poetry, memoirs and translations in English and French, we will rediscover the unique figure who left Montreal as a teenager in the 1920s to discover the literary scene in Paris. LTAC will also recognize the Canadian literary translators who have excelled on a national and international level over the past two years. Admission is free and open to all.

About the John Glassco Literary Translation Prize
The John Glassco Literary Translation Prize has been awarded since 1982 in celebration of St. Jerome, the patron saint of translators. The prize is named after John Glassco, a well-known writer and translator whose works include the English translation of the journals and complete poems of Saint-Denys Garneau. The prize is bestowed on a translator whose first book-length translation in French or English (novel, short story, poetry, essay, children’s literature, play) stands out for its literary merits and precision. Over thirty translators, many of whom are still very active in the field, have been awarded the prize over the years.
The complete list of winners can be found here:

By | 2017-09-25T20:54:58+00:00 September 13th, 2017|Categories: News|