Since the LTAC office is located at Concordia University, and access to the campus will be severely restricted until January 2021 at the earliest, we are forced to operate remotely until further notice. Our team remains available by email for any information. Wishing you health and safety, the LTAC team.

“Writers create national literatures and translators create a universal literature. Without translators, we writers would be nothing, condemned as we would be to living within the confines of our own language. We are all translated and we are all translators.”

José Saramago quoted in La Nación (Buenos Aires) on May 2, 2003

37th John Glassco Prize now open for submissions

Every year since 1982, the Literary Translators’ Association of Canada has awarded the John Glassco Prize to recognize the excellence and talent of an emerging literary translator. The prize is bestowed on a translator whose first book-length translation (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama or children’s literature) stands apart for its literary merits and precision. The winner receives a $1,000 prize and a one-year membership to LTAC. The deadline to submit is Friday July 9, 2021. Click here for all the details.

The winning translation for the 2020 prize was Louis Hammelin’s Les étés de l’ourse, published with Les éditions du Boréal. Said the judges, “Hamelin’s translation of Muriel Wylie Blanchet’s The Curve of Time is an accomplishment of candor insofar as it faithfully recreates the intimacy and excitement of the original publication.”

Watch the 2020 Glassco Gala, including the induction of Honorary Members Charlotte Melançon and Jane Brierley, a performance by musician Thomas Hellman, and more!

Spotlight on Translation

Get to know our members


July 2021

Congratulations to Georgette Leblanc and longstanding LTAC member Lazer Lederhendler for winning the 2021 Governor General's Literary Awards for [...]

Spring 2021

Six, yes, SIX, of our members are finalists for the 2020 Governor General's Literary Awards! Congratulations to Sophie Voillot, [...]

Logo CAC
Logo Concordia
Logo CAM